Bubbles

Bubbles are wonderful. I love trying to blow the biggest one possible, or just a million tiny ones. The way they lazily float up into the sky, colours constantly shifting. Then they disappear, and I blow some more.

bubble-221733_640

I even live in a bubble.

(No, not literally, although that would be super awesome.)

I live in a safe neighbourhood. I always have. Things like homelessness are something I pass by uncomfortably. I feel enormous guilt every time I walk by a pan handler. I have so much, and they have so little…but I was warned over and over by my parents that giving a little is never enough. If you give to one person, then the next will expect it, or the same person the next day will expect it. I don’t know entirely if this is true, but I haven’t tested it. And I don’t really want to give someone the money to make their lives worse. I have contemplated many times buying grocery store gift cards and giving those out instead. I haven’t actually done it. Does that make me a bad person?

Violence is something that I read about in other people’s lives, I have never experienced it. I hope I am lucky enough to never experience it. I hope no one I care about ever does or ever has. And yet, statistically speaking, at least one of my friends is hiding something. 1 in 4 women are the victims of sexual assault. 1 in 4. That statistic terrifies me. Which one of them is hiding a harrowing past?

I have popped a few of my bubbles, over the years. The biggest being the reality of the treatment of animals in today’s agriculture. I had been avoiding knowing the truth because I didn’t want to give up the holy grail of non-veganism: cheese. But I did. And it was totally worth it. If it weren’t for going vegan, we may not have found our amazing (raw vegan) wedding caterer. And there are so many wonderful vegan/vegetarian stores and restaurants and the people there are so wonderful. It’s this little community that I get to be a part of and it makes me a bit teary. People have asked me whether I still like being a vegan and the truth is that actually LOVE it! I cannot even remotely imagine going back. Being vegan is awesome (and not as hard as I thought it was!).

I’ve also popped smaller bubbles, like thinking I’d have to give up on things that I truly want in a relationship (like spending an inordinate amount of time with one person). Or that university after high school is the only way to go.

Some days I think that I should pop some more bubbles, and live in the reality of the world. But the reality of the world is so devastating, that I don’t know if I could take it day in and day out. There’s a reason I avoid watching the news and reading newspapers.

Maybe it wouldn’t be so bad if the media was less concerned about viewership/readership and more concerned with actual news. Then, maybe, my bubbles wouldn’t feel so necessary.

What’s your biggest bubble? Do you want to keep it or are you struggling to let go of it?

Leave your comments here! I love comments :-)

