Going for broke…literally?

I apologize for leaving everyone hanging after my frustrated post a few weeks ago. The good news is, we got it! In less than a month we’ll have the keys to our very own place! We are both very excited, and just love the place so much. The bad news is that we’re scraping towards the bottom of the barrel for savings to throw at a down payment at what would otherwise be way too big of a mortgage.

And then…we discovered a miraculous place called the ReStore. A non-profit thrift store full of building supplies and furniture needing some lovin’. In it, we discoverd a chandelier that matches another lighting unit in our new home. Apparently the previous owners didn’t care much for matching lighting, so there are barely any lights that match. And then we discovered a gorgeous solid wood dining set (extendable table and 6 chairs) that just needs a bit of help…okay maybe a bit more than a bit…for $100. Such a good deal! How could we pass that up? We knew we’d need a dining table anyway. I wonder what other cool things they have there…

And then…our car got written off. Yes, that’s right, the always cheap lovely insurance company has decided that a couple of dents in my wonderful, dependable little Echo aren’t worth fixing, and so after 6 glorious years, we have to say goodbye. They are giving us a bit of money for it, but not enough to buy a car that wouldn’t put us in the same position in another year or two. So out of the money for the down payment comes money for a new car. We think we’ve found one, and it’s a cute, slightly bigger zippy car. With features like power windows and a working stereo. Revolutionary, I say. So it’s exciting, but also sad. The Echo has been with me through a lot of good times and hard times. I’ve bonded with it, and while my practical side has won in getting the new car now (when even the mechanic said take the money, I knew it was time), I still am not ready to sever my emotional connection with that car. It’s going to be a sad day.

And I hear that moving costs money too, go figure. Sigh. I just hope we don’t actually manage to break the bank in the next couple of months.

P.S. Since we’re moving soon and need to get rid of stuff, is anyone interested in 70 tulle pompoms? …no?

 

3 thoughts on “Going for broke…literally?

  1. Oh dear – I feel your pain on the Echo – we had one, it went 350,000 miles. Then it needed it’s second catalytic converter, and it was just too hard to justify spending $800 on a car with that kind of mileage. We “moved up” to a Corolla – the Yaris that replaced the Echo in Toyota’s line just was not going to make us happy after Echo…we love the Corollas, but still get sentimental when we see an Echo on the road. πŸ™‚ As fro moving – hang in there, you are right, everything about the next few months will cost money. Re-Store and good will are your new best friends!

    • Thanks for the support πŸ™‚ Yes, I feel like I’m losing a best friend here, giving up my Echo. I definitely would’ve jumped right into a Yaris but they skimped on the quality. Hopefully, one day I’ll be able to smile when going by an Echo instead of frown…

Leave your comments here! I love comments :-)

