Book Review: Vegan Ice Cream

Image courtesy of amazon.com

  • Author: Jeff Rogers
  • Publisher: Ten Speed Press
  • Publish Date: May 13, 2014
  • 144 Pages

I cannot quite emphasize how much I love ice cream. Dairy ice cream was one of two reasons I held onto vegetarianism as long as I did before making the jump to veganism. If I had been presented with ice cream made from one of the recipes in Vegan Ice Cream, I would have given up that reason in a heartbeat.

The ice creams in this book are divided into two categories: “Ice Cream” and “Raw Ice Cream”. The regular ice creams are cashew-based and usually sweetened with maple syrup (my favourite!). The raw ice creams are true to the raw manifesto and don’t contain any kind of processed ingredients–they are sweetened with dates (or other fruit). Overall, the ingredients are mainly easy to find in this household, except the non-alcoholic vanilla flavouring. I had to go to whole foods for that, and I gave up on finding a non-alcoholic almond flavouring altogether. (The alcohol content in regular flavouring interferes with the freezing process.)

After poring over all of the recipes and trying to decide among the endlessly delicious options, I finally made Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip ice cream. This ice cream was wonderful. It was rich, full of flavour, and had that airy quality that a lot of vegan ice creams are missing (I’m looking at you coconut-based ice cream). My only issue was that the ice cream was a bit too sweet for me. If I were to make it again, I would use a 3/4 cup of maple syrup instead of a whole cup. I suspect the same sweetness level will be found in all of the recipes, but there’s only one way to find out…

I would definitely, definitely recommend this book to anyone who loves making delicious ice cream. Even the non-vegans. Because the world needs more delicious ice cream. And I am seriously considering buying a copy of this for myself–after all, it’s almost time for fresh, local peaches, and there are 3 different recipes just for those…

Rating: 4.5/5

Disclaimer: I did not receive any compensation for this post. I did receive a free preview copy for review from netgalley, which will expire and force me to buy the book for myself!

2 thoughts on “Book Review: Vegan Ice Cream

  1. I might have to give a recipe (or 2 ) a try! thanks for the review 🙂

Leave your comments here! I love comments :-)

