The Art Project: Part 2

After several weeks of delay (thanks to an unfortunately sick Boots, who is now, hopefully, on the mend), I finally started the second part of my art project.

The second part only requires 3 materials: the drawer, mod podge, and tissue paper torn into small-ish pieces.

Instructions: Sponge a layer of mod podge on the drawer, put the tissue paper on, sponge some more mod podge on top. Then repeat to fill in any gaps.

20140218_081859

 

The smaller pieces, plus the wrinkles in the tissue paper, give it a great texture.

20140218_081815

 

And that’s how it looks so far! I’m very excited as to how it’s turning out–I wasn’t sure the tissue paper would work as I wanted it to, but it’s perfect.

I will be evening out the border around the picture, as well as doing the remaining exposed drawer. I’m planning on doing the top edge last because I think that will give it the best look. My only regret is using glossy mod podge instead of matte. The whole project is going to reflect a lot of light when mounted on the wall. Maybe a light sandpaper will help reduce the gloss?

Stay tuned for part 3: actually finishing this extremely drawn out project!

6 thoughts on “The Art Project: Part 2

  1. Well that’s a gorgeous thing!

  2. Oh my, that’s beautiful! You’re so crafty!

  3. […] I’m almost done the art project! I just need to do a few touch ups, and then all four of them will be ready to go. I’m very […]

  4. […] finally completed my “art project“. It started with some old (cheap) drawers that weren’t needed anymore, and some […]

Leave your comments here! I love comments :-)

