Changes

I was recently just thinking how nice it is for my partner and I to be just living together. We’ve been living together for two years, most of it happening before we got married. But the first few months was the adjustment period, and then we were engaged and planning a wedding. Which makes now the time where we are both comfortable living together, and not going crazy planning some huge event.

It is wonderful. Just. So. Wonderful.

And the apartment we’re living in! It has enough room for us, a cat, my own office for when I work from home, living, dining…and it has a gas fireplace. It is a beautiful, beautiful apartment. We were floored when we first saw it. Did I mention it’s a corner apartment on the top floor of a 4 storey? No? Well, it is. Other than getting smoking hot in the summer, there is no downside to this place.

I thought another year or (more likely) two of renting our current apartment, and then we’ll buy a place of our own. No rush. Life has other plans. Last night, we find out that our landlord is seriously considering selling our apartment in a year. As in, no lease to renew. As in, moving. And, before you ask, no, we cannot afford the apartment, it is way out of our league. (Thanks, ridiculous Vancouver housing prices!)

Finding a new rental that meets our (probably too high) standards with a cat? Hard. Buying a place that we both like and is worth investing in AND we can afford? Also hard. Which is less hard? Well, I guess we’ll have to figure that out.

A year ago, I was leaning towards moving away from this area so that we could actually afford a nice place, without spending everything we have and being saddled with a big mortgage. But after a year, I have begun to remember how important having that network of friends and family is. And honestly? I’ve never had to rebuild a network. I have never actually lived away from this area. Part of me thinks “go on, take a risk, you should take a risk!” and the other part thinks, “But I like my friends, and my hangouts and my job!”.

Fortunately, we have a few months to get all this in order. I really don’t like moving, though, and there’s very few options in this that don’t require moving.

On the other hand, I bet the cat will dislike moving more than I will.

Oh yeah, you think she's cute now, but she knows something is up....

“Come a little closer, and I’ll show you how cute I really am…with my claws!”

What do you think? Have you left it all behind for a chance at something better? Is the people network more important than the savings?

11 thoughts on “Changes

  1. Having a strong network of loved ones is so nice. Liking your job? That’s so lucky. Seems like you answered your questions about whether you want to move away right there.

    • Thanks Kristen. I do think you’re right, I just have a hard time giving up the dream of a nice stand alone house, with a nice back yarn, in a nice tree-y neighbourhood, for an apartment or townhouse. I’ll get there 🙂

  2. I hear you. My son and daughter-in-law live in Vancouver and the housing prices are ridiculous as are condo prices. Kind of stuck between a rock and a hard place. Good luck on your new home hunt.

  3. I love comments, too! I’m Jennie, by the way. 🙂

    I sort of gave a peaceful sigh when I read your opening sentences. That was the same pattern my relationship followed, and while I really enjoyed the wedding planning, it was so nice to just BE after it was all said and done. It was a time to discover, “Who are we now?”

  4. I’ve never personally made a big move, but a lot of my friends have. It changes things a little only because you don’t see them as often, but it means that you make more time for phone conversations or special weekend trips to visit. I’ve actually noticed that my bonds with those friends have grown stronger because it’s a more purposeful friendship, not one of convenience. Plus, adult lives only get busier and people drift apart more and more (sad, I know), so I completely support a new adventure as long as you’re up for it. I totally fantasize about moving out of the city and onto some mountain property!

  5. […] As for the upcoming move, we have mostly decided that in the short term, we will be remaining in the Vancouver area. We are […]

Leave your comments here! I love comments :-)

