My “Art Project” – A WIP

I was never a painter. My ability to look at something and paint/draw it to life are limited. It’s always been a bit of a sad point for me, as it seems like an amazing talent to have. To want to draw a penguin (or a boat, or a cat, or…) and just be able to do it. Maybe I’ve just never spent enough time on it. All I can tell you is that natural talent just isn’t there.

So, when I say “Art Project” I mean it involved paint, but in the most unskilled sense of the word.

It all started with some drawers. We have this shelving unit, which had shelves and drawers you could rearrange any way you wanted. But instead of helping us stay organized, it was accumulating crap and taking up space. So the shelving unit itself is going to be repurposed (but that’s another post…you know, in 6 months or so when I actually get to repurposing it). Which left a few drawers with nothing to do.

And then I had this calendar. A beautiful calendar, with pictures of the northern lights.

I thought, hey, why don’t I glue these calendar pictures to the bottom of the drawer, cover the rest of the drawer in black (somehow), and then hang it on the wall. The lip could be used to display knick knacks!

Yup, genius.

So, I mod podged (it’s not made with animal bits!) that calendar to the drawer and….there were bubbles. I thought it would be better the second time…but it wasn’t.

2014-01-26 12.52.49

I might have been able to pull it off if I’d managed to get all the ripples on the water half of the picture

And that’s one of the better decoupage results.

I needed something to obscure the wrinkles in the paper. Fortunately, my local craft store was up to the task. They helped me pick out just what I needed to get the job done.

2014-01-26 12.53.11

Meet Amsterdam acrylic paint in prussian blue, and Golden heavy gel medium (semi-gloss). The heavy gel was initially white, but since I suspected I’d be using the whole jar, I just mixed the paint right in. It only needed about 8 small blobs of paint.

I painted it over thickly, trying to give each calendar page a more brush stroke-y look.

2014-01-26 12.53.00

Beautiful, no?

As it dried, the gel medium turned mostly clear, leaving a blue brushstroke effect on top.

But, since I appear to have entirely failed at taking a picture of that final product, you’ll just have to take my word for it for now.

Next up, Fun With Mod Podge Part II: Tissue Paper. Because naturally, when I thought “How do I make the drawer black?”, I came up with, “Black tissue paper”. Not something logical, like paint. Yeah. Wish me luck?

What’s your favourite “art project”? (Projects gone into with logic and skills are not acceptable answers)

One thought on “My “Art Project” – A WIP

  1. […] finally completed my “art project“. It started with some old (cheap) drawers that weren’t needed anymore, and […]

Leave your comments here! I love comments :-)

