The Other Man

I have a confession to make. Since before I met my current partner, there has been another man who has held a part of my heart. I didn’t realize how deep this bond ran until this weekend, when I made a sad discovery (which I will tell you about, later).

You see, since I was a much younger person, I’ve known this man who was kind, fiercely loyal, extremely intelligent and resourceful, and with just the right sarcastic streak. He believed in intelligence over violence. His name? MacGyver. Don’t sneer. It has broken my heart to see his name smeared by people for the sake of a stupid joke. Most people haven’t seen the show, but have seen enough of these satires that they believe the jokes are true. They are not.

Sure, it’s a bit of a cheesy show. But I maintain that he is the only man who can ever pull off a mullet. The. Only. Man.

Oh, don’t look at me like that, you know I can’t resist you…. (image from wikipedia)

My partner does not share my love of the show to the same degree, but I guess that is understandable. I mean, who would want to watch another man compete for the affections of his partner?

I still watch reruns of the show, but my heart’s glow had dimmed a bit for this love of mine. Until I found Stargate SG-1. This show, my partner shares my love for. It is full of sci-fi and action and smart people. And while Richard Dean Anderson plays a different kind of character, with a larger fondness for guns and much lower on the nerdy intelligence, he makes up for it with a shorter haircut (sorry MacGyver, the mullet wasn’tย that great), and one hell of a dry wit.

So, imagine my dismay when I discover that (SPOILER ALERT)ย as of season 7, they start phasing his character out! I will eventually adjust to this new turn of events, but my heart continues to yearn for more than a few awesome one liners. Even if those include my new favourite saying:

I’ll jump off that bridge when I come to it.

Seriously. Pure genius.

I would never leave the love of my life for this other man. But he will always hold a special place in my heart. And if he sees fit to come back to television to star for another series…well…I might even get cable.

7 thoughts on “The Other Man

  1. hownottokillyourparents

    Ah, MacGuyver… *minor swoon*

  2. So your partner is competing with Richard Dean Anderson. Tough life he has. How about fending off Pierce Brosnan, Jim Kirk, the guy from Pride and Prejudice, the guy from Bridget Jones, (yes, he was in Mama Mia with Brosnan – and don’t we love that movie), and even Steve McGarrett…. ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. Sorry, out chopping wood in the snow at the moment (or some such) ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. Nice. Now for me I’m thinking George Clooney. Sad but true. ๐Ÿ™‚ He’d have to get rid of that pig first though.

Leave your comments here! I love comments :-)

