Perspective

So it’s time to write my blog post for the week, and I’m struck with the idea that I’ve started to write them all for the readers. I have lost motivation to write posts because my readership is down, so what’s the point of doing it if no one is reading?

But then I realize, it’s about writing about things that mean something to me. And when I think of it that way, there are subjects to write about. I have a lot of interests. Maybe I’ve been exhausting them with fan fridays. Maybe, I was just too busy with my midlife (okay, quarterlife) crisis and my priorities have changed. It doesn’t really matter. What matters is that I’m here, now, and I’m going to write something dammit.

I bet, at this point, you’re wondering what my quarterlife crisis was about. And if you’re not, well, too bad, I’m telling you anyway.

I graduated highschool and 2 months later started my B.Sc. at university. I graduated university and started at my current workplace the day after my convocation ceremony (no joke). That was 4.5 years ago. I never took that extended time to off to travel and “discover myself”. I often wonder what I missed out on. Would I be less of a pain in the butt a better person right now, if I’d been forced out of my comfort zone for several months at a time? Would I be tougher when it comes to the bumps in the road of life? Or would I be in a padded cell?

It seemed like something was missing, and that if I just went on that adventure, then I’d feel fulfilled at life. So it was very appropriate timing that my job sent me to a seminar that gave some very powerful advice.

If you think that if you just have that one thing, and then you will be happy, you’re wrong. If you think that if you just have that one thing, then you can do all these other things, well, that’s a different story.

I’m paraphrasing a lot. But that was my takeaway message. So I looked at my life and my list of wants and I realized that I have a pretty awesome life. I have a job where they like and, more importantly, value me. I have mostly awesome coworkers, who I enjoy getting to work with. My current frustrations with my job will pass.

Sure, we don’t own our own house yet (we probably never will, in Vancouver), but that doesn’t make our current place any less wonderful. We were so excited when we found this apartment that we went from viewing to signing the contract in 2 days. Why would I want to rush away from it?

I got to marry the most wonderful person. I still get all teary-eyed over how perfect we are for each other. (Yes, I am a sap, got something to say about it?)

Yes, life sucks sometimes, and there are hard days, but all it took was a few key words to shock me out of my overall stupor. Either make the best of what you have, or change it. Right now, I have awesome things, and the only thing I need to change is my perspective.

And perspective truly is everything.

4 thoughts on “Perspective

  1. My brother lives in Vancouver and says the prices are horrendous! It will all work out one day 🙂

  2. I’m here! I read!

    Glad you found something to make you think about your life in a different way. I have a favorite Abraham Lincoln quote – “we are all as happy as we make up our minds to be” or something similar. Sometimes I have to repeat it all the way to work and back, but I find it does help me realize that things are not SO bad. Usually they are not bad at all, just having a bad few moments, not a bad life.

Leave your comments here! I love comments :-)

