Autumn Baking

There is something special about autumn, with its multi-coloured leaves, and crisp bite to the air. It speaks of bundling up for long walks in the diminishing sunny days. It whispers of the cool winter days to come. It pulls everyone in around a warm fire place, and pushes warm drinks into their hands.

The ability to use the fire place again makes it one of my favourite times of year. Nearly as wonderful as when all the flowers start blooming in the spring. But one of my favourite things about fall is how it just makes me feel like putting pumpkin and apples in everything is the right way to go.

It started with pies (which is really the best way to start anything). Then, this past weekend, I had to make a cake. Originally I was going to make this one, until I discovered that my staple ingredient of applesauce was absent in the cupboards. So, I thought about what I felt like, on a crisp fall day. It wasn’t a far stretch until I found apple cake with caramel glaze.

It's not much to look at, but I promise it's delicious :-)

It’s not much to look at, but I promise it’s delicious 🙂 (Oh, and those black flecks are from a few too many sparklers being placed in the cake, whoops!)

I changed it up a little bit, instead of 1/8 c. olive oil and 3 tbsp water, I used 1/2 of a very large banana and 1 tbsp of canola oil. The cake part turned out a bit dry, although it was hard to tell, it being doused in caramel topping and all. So I think I would add 1-2 tbsp of water to try and get a moister batter. I would also decrease the sugar-content in the caramel topping; it was delicious, but would be even better if it wasn’t so overwhelmingly sweet. I think just decreasing the icing sugar to maybe a 3/4 c would make the difference. It would make the glaze more gooey, but it’s better that way anyway!

All in all, it was a really good recipe, and I am continuing to enjoy eating it on these crisp fall days!

What’s your favourite thing about fall?

Leave your comments here! I love comments :-)

