Something Old

The final countdown has begun–there are less than 4 weeks left until the wedding! There is something very real about having that “over a month left” buffer, and now that it’s gone. I’m stressed. But with much help and plugging away, I know I will get there.

For the next few weeks I’m going to run a series on different pieces of my wedding outfit, going by the “Something old, something new, something borrowed, something blue” adage. I didn’t start out with any intent of going by that adage, but once the pieces started falling into place for it anyway, it seemed only logical to follow it through. Today, we begin with my something old.

I’ve mentioned before that it’s been very difficult doing this wedding thing without my mom. Although I’m very blessed with the friends and family I have around me who are constantly pitching in and bolstering me up, it doesn’t change the fact that she’s supposed to be there, on that day. I tried to capture as much of her as I could, but it still wasn’t quite enough.

One day, when I was looking through her jewelry, searching for her memory, I came across a very important necklace.

20130715_172405

I remember my mom treasuring that necklace, because it reminded her of her mother, who died when she was even younger than my mom. I remember her telling me that she had gotten a jeweller to make the wire wrapping to make it into a pendant and keep the stone safe. I can still feel the significance of it, when I hold it.

I knew as soon as I held it that I had to wear it when I got married. The only issue is that the earrings I made match with my dress, with their pearls and silver. Gold? Not a match with that dress, or those earrings. Which means that I need to either mismatch (still an option), or make new earrings that tie in the gold of the necklace with some silver. I’ve been mulling over ways to do it for several days now and still have not come up with anything. I haven’t given up yet though! And regardless of the earrings, I know wearing that necklace will help me get through that big day all that much stronger.

See you back here next week for “Something New”!

4 thoughts on “Something Old

  1. Who says you have to match? Maybe the very mismatch is the thing that brings your mom closer to you that day.

  2. hownottokillyourparents

    I have a present for you! You can check it out here: http://hownottokillyourparents.wordpress.com/2013/07/16/award-season-already-but-i-have-nothing-to-wear/

    Happy Awesome You Day!

Leave your comments here! I love comments :-)

