Fan Friday #3

It’s Friday again (thank goodness)! This week, I’d like to put the spotlight on something that I can’t believe I didn’t discover sooner.

Fan Friday Presents…Microwave Baking!

I love the microwave. It quickly and efficiently reheats leftovers, steams veggies, helps make quick chocolate sauce, and now, it bakes, too. It is a recent trend, and I did try it a few weeks ago, but the recipe turned out a bit sub par. So when I made the Single Serving Chocolate Chip CakeΒ from the one and only Chocolate Covered Katie (Seriously, check out her recipes. Now!), I was blown away by how easy and delicious it was.

C'mon, doesn't that look amazing?

C’mon, doesn’t that look amazing?

The recipe pictured is German Chocolate Cake For OneΒ — which, while it had an amazing texture, was extremely lacking on sweetness. This is our fault because we subbed out the oil for applesauce and then reduced the sugar by 1/2 tbsp. Fortunately the chocolate chips on top and some ice cream made up for the lack of sweetness.

Well, what are you waiting for? All you need is 10 minutes and a microwave! And then there’s no pesky leftovers to deal with (or tempt you).

Have you tried any microwave baking? What’s your favourite recipe?

5 thoughts on “Fan Friday #3

  1. hownottokillyourparents

    Hi! I hope you don’t mind, but I gave a shout out for your blog over here: http://hownottokillyourparents.wordpress.com/2013/06/01/follow-that-blog/. I have really enjoyed your stuff and wanted other people to know. πŸ™‚ And you. You should know too. πŸ˜€

  2. Looks so delicious!

    I posted an article on different types of cakes. Why not choose your favorite cake? πŸ˜‰
    http://bakistryblog.wordpress.com/2013/06/02/choose-your-favorite-cake

  3. […] is a particular blog whose recipes I’ve mentioned a few times in various posts, like this one and this one. When you have a sweet tooth like mine, that kind of blog is […]

Leave your comments here! I love comments :-)

