Wedding Shoes – The Adjustment Period

For those of you who don’t remember, or are new readers (yay!), I found my wedding shoes at a thrift store several months ago. They were exactly what I wanted, except for two teensy little issues. They had marks on the top of the shoe, and they were a bit snug if worn for longer than a minute or so. And extra snug if one tried to, say, put insoles in. I’ve been told multiple times to pick comfortable shoes to get married in, and these shoes, while pretty, have no padding or support. At all.

The first order of business was to stretch the shoes. Fortunately for me, the internet was full to bursting with ideas. In the end, I chose number 3 from previous link: stretch with ice. I took two ziploc bags and filled them a bit over 1/3 full with water.

2013-05-14 00.17.19

 

Next, I inserted one into each shoe.

2013-05-14 00.18.15

Then I put them in the freezer overnight. (With such small ziptop bags, I raised the heels to force the water into the toe area.) The water expanded, and stretched the shoe material.

To get the bags out again, I let them thaw a bit and then hacked at the bulky ice sticking out of the toe in a fashion that made my fiance wince. But I had to get the ice out before the condensation killed my shoes. And nobody got hurt. Really. I swear.

The next time I put them on, the fit was much better. But not good enough for insoles. So they’re currently in the freezer for a second round. I definitely was pleasantly surprised that it worked as well as it did!

The next order of business was to make them look pretty. I cut off the bows that were in the way and made some shoe clips. They ended up being quite similar to the test ones I made awhile back, but I decided that simpler was better. A single pearl seemed to fit the look much better than a complicated set of beads.

Aren't they pretty?

Aren’t they pretty?

Even though you can see the marks at this angle, they are mostly covered by the flower petals from the top. However, I would like to cover them up a bit better…maybe with nail polish?

The funniest part of all this is that I will likely get another pair of shoes to go with my reception outfit. Mostly because my legs look better with a little bit of heel–but it’s too late in the process to wear something with a little bit of heel with my wedding dress (it was already hemmed). Oh well. These shoes are worth it…right?

Leave your comments here! I love comments :-)

