The Vegan Update

So, apparently I fail at being crafty lately. I wholeheartedly apologize. One day, the boxes will be unpacked (as much as they can be), and I will have my own little crafting area for the first time ever. Until that day, well, I’ll see what I can do. For now, however, I’m going to answer the question I get a lot, because I know you’re all anxious for the answer!

How is being vegan going?

See? I read your mind, didn’t I? Well, even if I didn’t, that’s what this blog is about.ย 

Being vegan has been going really well! It’s not as hard as I thought it might be. I was extremely attached to dairy (ask anyone who has known me for longer than 4 months), especially cheese and ice cream. While I cannot say I have noticed a large increase in energy or decrease in weight, I have felt an increase in peace of mind. I am more confident that what I’m putting into my body is good stuff. And isn’t contributing to the suffering of animals.

I have been staggered by all the recipes and ingredients out there that people have produced that make amazing vegan food. Silken tofu is pretty amazing–it can be part of a dressing, or the base ingredient in chocolate pudding. I have had hawaiian pizza with fake ham that tastes so much like ham, I had to pull a bit off and really taste it to confirm that it was indeed fake. And did you know that ground flax can be used as an egg substitute? It is such an amazing time to be entering the vegan world.

I think what amazes me most is raw vegan food. I have eaten amazing raw vegan pizza, and even cheesecake, and it’s just amazing to me that it’s even possible. I really want to try a raw vegan dessert recipe, but truth be told, I’m very intimidated. Raw vegan comes with its own special set of ingredients.

But being vegan is more than what you eat, it’s also what you consume otherwise. Which gets harder. I’m in desperate need of new clothes, but I have no idea where to buy them. I have been told, and agree with, that if I place that much value on how other animals are treated, I need to place value on how humans are treated as well. It’s much easier to boycott food, there’s ingredients in it. But what about clothes? They don’t don’t have labels that say “Made in a sweatshop” or “Made at the cost of small children’s fingers”. And even if it’s made locally, that doesn’t mean the fabric came from equally wonderful sources. So that piece is much harder, and I still haven’t figured it out. I keep telling myself these things take time…these jeans only have so long until the holes are too big to conceal though.

I have also had people ask how my fiance is dealing with being vegan, and I am happy to say that he’s quite content with it. I think it has even brought us closer together. I must also confess that without him, it would be much harder, since he does most (i.e. very nearly all) of the cooking.

Yes, I’ve had to give up a few things, and I can’t walk 2 blocks away to get a snack. But there’s an extremely good chance that snack wouldn’t have been healthy anyway. So…I think I’m better off without it.

I would like to finish off with some of my favourite products:

  • Daiya cheese
  • So Good Coconut ice cream (not soy ice cream, it’s got a weird flavour to it)
  • Almond Fresh unsweetened almond milk — or, for a bit more fun, their chocolate almond milk, which is just the right amount of sweetened, mmmmm.

You will notice that they’re all dairy substitutes. I wasn’t kidding when I say I was extremely attached.

Have you ever tried going vegan? What’s your favourite vegan product / recipe?

4 thoughts on “The Vegan Update

  1. Perhaps you already know this but there is Fair Trade Certified Clothing. I bought a dress that is Fair Trade Certified years ago and it’s still one of my favorite pieces.

  2. I really like that you give updates on the vegan thing. It serves as inspiration for others to become vegan or at least to think about it. Throughout my life, I have been given the cons of being a vegan more so than the pros, so it always put me off. Lately, especially now that I have read this post, I have been seeing how healthy and great it is to be vegan.
    It’s especially inspiring you’ve been doing this, considering how addicted you were to decadent ice cream. ๐Ÿ˜›
    Keep it up!
    -Ali

Leave your comments here! I love comments :-)

