Fun Finds and Tasty Treats

First off, I would like to thank everyone who took the time to read my previous post. All the responses I have received are so supportive, it’s wonderful. So thank you.

Next, I apologize for failing to post last week. I have no excuse! Other than wanting to make sure I had some decent material for a post, that is.

The past few weeks have been very busy. We moved to an amazing new apartment, and I shifted back into wedding planning mode. Fingers crossed, but it does seem like things are progressing really well!

A few weeks back, on the way back from picking me up from my final dress fitting, we discovered a garden store that was (sadly) going out of business. With the growing season starting up, we thought we would check it out. I should clarify though–not only do we not actually have a garden plot, but neither of us is particularly talented at gardening. We both love to try though!

We picked up a couple of plants, as well as some unexpected finds…

Sparkly blue fun things that can be used in our wedding decor! (Why yes, that is our lovely new fireplace in the background!)

HUGE pine cones, called “Sugar Cones”. Wouldn’t want to be under one of those trees in a storm!

While I’m sure finding a use for the blue sparklies will be easy, I am unsure what we’re going to do with the giant cones. Although I guess with a bit of glue and glitter, they could join the blue sparklies party. And what a party it is…

I managed to also persuade my lovely partner to go to a yarn store with me, where I discovered that multi-coloured non-animal based yarn is a rarity. Fortunately for me, unfortunately for our bank account, they did have a few options.

Image

Isn’t it purdy? It also happens to nearly be our wedding colours! I’m thinking something crocheted and lacy at the moment, but…there’s just so many options!

This past weekend, the remaining baking stuff finally got unpacked! Mostly this was because I’d been craving brownies for at least a week and couldn’t take it anymore.

Image

 

 

ImageImage

 

You can find the original recipe over on Chocolate Covered Katie’s blog. But brace yourself–this recipe actually borders on healthy! You can barely tell when these lovelies are fresh out of the oven, I swear. The batch I made only had a couple of minor changes, that were really unnecessary in the scheme of things, but I can’t help it. Every little bit counts, right?

I used 1/8 cup applesauce (unsweetened) and 1/8 cup oil instead of the full 1/4 cup oil. I’m pretty sure the whole amount could be replaced with applesauce, though, after trying it. Also, with the addition of the applesauce, I dropped the 2 tbsp of sugar to 1 tbsp. And I definitely used the full 2/3 cup chocolate chips. Less chocolate is for crazy people.

Brownie craving satisfied, I’m not sure what I’ll make next, although fresh out of the oven chocolate chip cookies are sure sounding good…

What’s your favourite nearly healthy treat?

5 thoughts on “Fun Finds and Tasty Treats

  1. LOVE the sparkly things! Where did you find them? I have been looking for things like that!

    • They were the last of them at that store (which was nearly in the middle of nowhere), unfortunately! If it helps, it looks like most of it is branches painted with a metallic paint with tons of glitter and a few tiny and regular sized translucent sequins glued on. I don’t think it would be *too* hard to reproduce!

  2. […] particular blog whose recipes I’ve mentioned a few times in various posts, like this one and this one. When you have a sweet tooth like mine, that kind of blog is […]

Leave your comments here! I love comments :-)

