Ribbon Flowers

My goal for a few months now has been to make flowers from the ribbon that is our wedding theme colours. During my quest, I scoured pinterest in an attempt to collect ideas. When that yielded only mildly promising ideas, I did general google searches, and got a book from the library. I tried some fancy sewing from said book, but it looked…weird (user error, I’m sure, the pictures in the book looked much nicer). I had nearly given up when I discovered this video! I’m sure there are others that are similar, but the level of simplicity and resulting flower were exactly what I was looking for.

So it was decided, and I set about finding a lighter. No, that wasn’t easy, because apparently in a feat of “we don’t care if a natural disaster hits” we had no lighter or a single match in our place. Thank goodness for these flowers, because now we are prepared.

The flowers start with cutting out some squares, melting the edges, making some cuts, and melting those edges. Simple.

2013-02-13 03.24.11

This is a deconstructed flower, composed of 5 layers of ribbon.

2013-02-13 03.24.53

Both constructed flowers

2013-02-13 03.24.44

Flower #1

2013-02-13 03.24.36

Flower #2

I love the petals of flower #2, they turned out much more rounded and nicely layered. But I feel that the center of flower #1 is a bit more appealing–although not quite perfect. I guess I may just have to buy more beads for the occasion, what a shame!

As for what to do with them now, well, the current thought is hair fascinator and/or shoe clips. But I’m still working on that, and, of course, the continued search for awesome things to make with the ribbon. Smaller flowers for boutonnieres , perhaps?

So, what are your ideas for other things I can make with the ribbon?

4 thoughts on “Ribbon Flowers

  1. […] off the bows that were in the way and made some shoe clips. They ended up being quite similar to the test ones I made awhile back, but I decided that simpler was better. A single pearl seemed to fit the look much […]

Leave your comments here! I love comments :-)

