Engaged!

I’m engaged!

Let’s take a moment to appreciate that about 3 years ago I was quite insistent that I would likely never find Mr. Right. Let’s also take a moment to appreciate that we were actually set up by mutual friends, and it worked out. He cooks, I clean, we spend copious amounts of time together, we love, we fight, and together we are pretty awesome. I am very excited to spend the rest of my life with him.

Oh yes, and let’s appreciate the most beautiful ring I’ve ever seen, let alone owned. The stone is a colour change sapphire, which is blue outdoors and purple indoors. Basically the most awesome thing ever. It is also a low profile ring, so I don’t knock or catch it on anything during everyday wear. Yes, definitely the most amazing ring ever.

Unfortunately, I find myself quickly overwhelmed. Elation was quickly tempered with the pressure to inform everyone “important” so no one would feel left out. It was staggering, the number of people that went from asking when he proposed to asking whether we’d set a date yet–even if the proposal date was less than 24 hours ago.

It’s been a week…and I’m stressed.

I will (hopefully) only be engaged once in my life, and it’s something I’ve been looking forward to for awhile–so I want to enjoy it, dammit! So here are some key things I’m going to try and remember:

  1. It’s our wedding
  2. All that’s really necessary is: us, someone to marry us, and, of course, the dress
  3. At the end of this, I will be married to my soul mate ❤

Those will get me through this, right? Right?….Yeah, that’s what I thought. At least I will have lots of opportunities to be creative!

 

6 thoughts on “Engaged!

  1. Congrats enjoy the moment!
    Love the Hymans!

  2. i just got engaged too. i have literally been asked when the wedding is so many times already, its like, cant we just enjoy the engagement? and yeah… i feel so overwelmed! it feels like there is so much to do, so much to plan, so much to budget. my fiance wants to be involved with every little detail too. O BOY! Congrats though! I feel your pain but also JOY!

  3. […] Homemade Sarcasm A sarcastic view on cooking, baking, and everything crafty Skip to content HomeRecipesBasic SnickerdoodlesApplesauce SnickerdoodlesApple Choc Chip Oat CookiesCarrot CakeAbout ← Engaged! […]

Leave your comments here! I love comments :-)

