The Fancy Tools of the Trade

Until recently, I was working with a basic set of tools–I had some combined pliers/wirecutters from my toolbox, and a pair of crimpers. (You can do a lot with just those tools. All I needed to make the finally earrings in The Perfect Earrings was a pair of crimpers.) But, less than a year ago, I “acquired” a set of needle nose pliers (thanks dad!–he won’t miss them, I’m sure). The avenues this opened! I was able to make earrings like these:

Then, last christmas, I got my fanciest tool yet, a pair of round nose pliers. Which allowed me to make earrings like these:

And now, for my birthday, I have received the fanciest (and possibly least necessary, but no less awesome) tools yet. The first is a pair of side cutters, that does the nicest, cleanest cuts I’ve ever seen (at least, compared to my other wire cutters).

Bead Landing™ Side Cutters from Michaels©

The second is a pair of “wire looping pliers”, which essentially make it super easy to start bends and coils in wire. This is especially helpful for me since I have issues with my wrists and the more fine work I have to do, the more I regret starting the project.

Beadalon® Wire Looping Pliers

Finally, the most mysterious of all the tools, the “bead drilling tweezers”, specially designed to make drilling holes in smaller beads (like pearls), easy as pre-made cookie dough. I am still unsure as to how it works, but the concept is very exciting. Beyond the obvious of how to use it in the first place, I have no idea what kind of drill bit to use. However, I do still have some pearls (in a currently unknown location, but possibly behind a dresser) that I got in hawaii that do not have holes in them. Can’t think of a better test!

Bead Landing™ Bead Drilling Tweezers from Michaels©

What will I make with all these fancy new tools? I don’t know! I’m excited to find out though–and am open to suggestions!

Sarah

Leave your comments here! I love comments :-)

