Tea Syrup and Jewelry

I have many hobbies, and though I love baking, I also love other things, like cute animals and tea. Just like baking, however, it is usually cheaper (and sometimes better) to make these things myself. (I do have a project in the works that involves knitting a tiny cute animal, but I want to wait to post about it until I’ve actually finished it.)

Yesterday, I discovered a recipe that I am eager to try. DavidsTea put a recipe for making tea flavoured syrups in their September 2011 newsletter. I can’t say I’d want to try it with boring tea, but with DavidsTea, oh yes, I’m excited. I have not yet decided which kind to make first, but I’m leaning towards Alpine Punch.

Tea Flavoured Syrup

  • 6 tsp any tea
  • 1 c water
  • 1 c sugar

Directions: “Steep your tea and strain into a small pan. Stir in sugar and simmer on medium-low for 10-15 minutes, until sugar dissolves. Store it in the fridge and drizzle into drinks, over fresh fruit, or right onto a spoon.”

Or put it on ice cream, or pancakes, I think.

Jewelry is also one of my favourite things. Buying it and making it. Making it is fun because then you can give it as very original gifts and people generally are pretty excited that it’s just for them. Recently I found instructions to make a wirework tree pendant. I’m pretty new to the world of wirework, though I have been making earrings and such for awhile. Original instructions are available here from Bead Studio.

There is a penny so you get a sense of scale–it’s not very big. Instead of the gauges in the directions (because I didn’t have them), I used 20g and 26g and it seemed to work out pretty well. I can definitely see the advantage of a thicker gauge for the circular base.

The main reason I wanted to do this is because I love cherry blossom trees, and I wanted to make one that will last year round. In retrospect, I think I would have the circular base ends come out at the top and create a loop with them, instead of trying to make them stay together with the wraps of 26g wire.

Hopefully will get back soon with more baking and maybe even reveal my knitting project!

Sarah

2 thoughts on “Tea Syrup and Jewelry

  1. […] the long awaited for (mostly by me) tiny red panda! The knitting project I alluded to back in early may finally came to […]

  2. […] hemmed off). This past weekend I actually had time to make a leave, which is a lot like a tree of life, but leaf […]

Leave your comments here! I love comments :-)

