Applesauce Snickerdoodles – Take 1

My first attempt at making snickerdoodles healthier by using applesauce was a great success as a cookie, but not so much as a snickerdoodle. I took the basic recipe and instead of 3/4 cup butter and 1 cup sugar, I added:

  • 1/2 cup applesauce
  • 1/4 + 1/8 cup butter
  • 1/2 cup + 1/8 cup sugar

The batter was really sticky! Until I added the last bit of applesauce, it was a lot like scone batter (very dry and layered). In order to fit all the cookies onto one pan, there were some very large cookies–which was a less than awesome idea. They took a lot longer to cook (about 10 min longer for some of the bigger ones). However! The outcome, while a bit dry and a tad dense, was a tasty-apple cinnamon flavoured cookie (that was a big hit among my friends).

Yes! Just look at all that tasty cookie goodness! The other difference between these cookies is that since they were so much drier, they didn’t melt as much (the mojito attempts were much flatter).

So, what would I change? More applesauce! I think I would go up to 3/4 cup applesauce, with the same reduced levels of butter and sugar. That will be my next try! And after that I’m thinking maybe whole wheat flour. Of course, at that point they may not be snickerdoodles anymore.

Enjoy!

One thought on “Applesauce Snickerdoodles – Take 1

  1. […] many experiments health-ifying baking with […]

Leave your comments here! I love comments :-)

