Starting with Snickerdoodles

I can’t see any other way to start this blog than with a cookies recipe. Snickerdoodles were my mom’s favourite recipe, and she even won a baking contest with them. The recipe has been modified a bit from the original Betty Crocker snickerdoodles (I think).

Snickerdoodles

Mix together thoroughly …

  • 3/4 cup butter
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1 egg

Sift together and stir in …

  • 2 cup sifted flour
  • 1 1/2 tsp cream of tartar
  • 3/4 tsp baking soda
  • 1/4 tsp salt

Sugar Mixture

  • 2 tbsp sugar
  • 2 tsp cinnamon

Chill dough (optional). Roll into balls the size of walnuts. Then roll each ball in the sugar mixture before placing about 2 inches apart on an ungreased baking sheet. Bake at 400ºF until lightly browned but still soft, approximately 8 – 10 minutes.

As for myself, I never chill the dough, so I would consider it totally unnecessary. But I suppose if you were working in a warm environment, it might be a good idea.

At a craft fair in December, I discovered something miraculous. Flavoured snickerdoodles. There were candycane ones, and chocolate-mocha-y ones. It blew my mind. I decided I needed to try making my own snickerdoodle variations. So, inspired by an etsy store that had mojito flavoured cookies, I decided to make mojito flavoured snickerdoodles.

The modifications were pretty simple. To the wet ingredients, I added 4 finely diced mint leaves and 1 1/2 tbsp lime juice. Instead of the cinnamon mixture, I mixed together approximately equal parts lime juice and sugar and dipped the dough balls in that.

The verdict: the lime-sugar dip worked amazingly. It gave the cookie a bit of tang with each bite. However, I couldn’t really taste the mint or the lime in the cookie itself. I might try adding 1/2 tsp of mint flavouring to the cookies, or perhaps just increasing the number of mint leaves to 6. Oh yeah, and maybe getting a mortar and pestle instead of trying to dice it. With the lime topping though, putting lime juice in the cookie itself is almost unnecessary.

With any luck I will manage to convince myself to make it a second time with modifications. What I would like to try next is cutting down on the butter (and sugar) by substituting in apple sauce. Will post again with the results!

Sarah

One thought on “Starting with Snickerdoodles

Leave your comments here! I love comments :-)

